//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

T = Target feedback system

A few weeks ago I visited Hinde House school in Sheffield to look at how they have been successful in raising attainment in Maths. One of the (many) great ideas I saw was a numbered feedback system where marked work was annotated with “T” numbers. These numbers corresponded to posters on the wall showing different areas to improve. Students were well drilled in receiving marked work and looking up the annotations on the posters to see how to improve their work.

Target poster seen at Hinde House School, Sheffield.

IMG_3450

When we brought the idea back to the team, we were concerned that having standard statements would reduce the specificity of the feedback students received. It was decided to keep the mechanism of writing numbers on work to save time, but write new statements for each piece of work.

I do this by typing the statements into a power point document as I mark. These are then displayed when the work is returned. Students then look through their work, find the targets that correspond to their areas for development, and write a response.

I have found that this method saves masses of time. I also think that before I found this method, I may have prioritised a couple of points to make to students as writing everything would take too long. This way, I can give more thorough feedback, and students can prioritise which areas are the most important in terms of selecting which target to respond to first.

Here are two examples of feedback I used recently with a year 11, and year 13 group. The year 11 example is from controlled assessment preparatory work where students attempted to evaluate an experiment. The year 13 example is from feedback following an exam question.

Students either write down their targets, or I print them out and they stick them next to the work and discuss how they are going to respond.

IMG_3447

IMG_3446

Discussion

One thought on “T = Target feedback system

  1. I do this too…saves me loads of time. What I also like about doing this is that you can add to it whenever you need to. So the next time you mark that piece of work you can add any additional comments to the comment bank-the comment bank grows over time and becomes more personal

    Posted by Jane | October 3, 2015, 4:37 am

Leave a Reply

